Book Club, Uncategorized

Spring Reading Challenge: March 2016 Reading List

 

14557090346281.jpg

 

Since being apart of a book club, I’ve been reading a lot more and its been fun. I love getting together with the ladies to eat and  discussion the book of the month, but I haven’t been reading any of the books on my personal list. I get busy with my two-year-old or other activities, that I hardly find the time to read the book club’s books.

February, I was so proud of myself; I read two books! The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho and Big Girl Panties: A Novel by Stephanie Envanovich. Yes, I understand that other people read twice as much as that in a month, but for me, that was a huge accomplishment. So I got to thinking, I should challenge myself to read more over the next few months.

Since I read two book in February,  I decided to up the ante and read THREE books each month for the next four months; March, April, May, and June! One book will be from my book club and two will be from my personal list.

Again, not too much, but just enough to get some of these books knocked off my list. If you’re having a hard time finding the time to read or looking for something new to read, I invite you to do this challenge with me! See ya soon and happy reading!

 

March 2016 Reading List:

51fqNgTGxaL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_
Pretty Girls: A Novel by Karin Slaughter (Book Club’s Pick)

More than twenty years ago, Claire and Lydia’s teenaged sister Julia vanished without a trace. The two women have not spoken since, and now their lives could not be more different. Claire is the glamorous trophy wife of an Atlanta millionaire. Lydia, a single mother, dates an ex-con and struggles to make ends meet. But neither has recovered from the horror and heartbreak of their shared loss—a devastating wound that’s cruelly ripped open when Claire’s husband is killed.
 
The disappearance of a teenage girl and the murder of a middle-aged man, almost a quarter-century apart: what could connect them? Forming a wary truce, the surviving sisters look to the past to find the truth, unearthing the secrets that destroyed their family all those years ago . . . and uncovering the possibility of redemption, and revenge, where they least expect it.

51QUznf0TsL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_
The Last Girl (The Dominion Trilogy #1) by Joe Hart (My Pick)

A mysterious worldwide epidemic reduces the birthrate of female infants from 50 percent to less than 1 percent. Medical science and governments around the world scramble in an effort to solve the problem, but twenty-five years later there is no cure, and an entire generation grows up with a population of fewer than a thousand women.

Zoey and some of the surviving young women are housed in a scientific research compound dedicated to determining the cause. For two decades, she’s been isolated from her family, treated as a test subject, and locked away—told only that the virus has wiped out the rest of the world’s population.

Captivity is the only life Zoey has ever known, and escaping her heavily armed captors is no easy task, but she’s determined to leave before she is subjected to the next round of tests…a program that no other woman has ever returned from. Even if she’s successful, Zoey has no idea what she’ll encounter in the strange new world beyond the facility’s walls. Winning her freedom will take brutality she never imagined she possessed, as well as all her strength and cunning—but Zoey is ready for war.

61P1gX+vfHL._SX333_BO1,204,203,200_
The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald (My Pick)

Broken Wheel, Iowa, has never seen anyone like Sara, who traveled all the way from Sweden just to meet her book-loving pen pal, Amy. When she arrives, however, she finds Amy’s funeral guests just leaving. The residents of Broken Wheel are happy to look after their bewildered visitor-there’s not much else to do in a dying small town that’s almost beyond repair.

You certainly wouldn’t open a bookstore. And definitely not with the tourist in charge. You’d need a vacant storefront (Main Street is full of them), books (Amy’s house is full of them), and…customers.

The bookstore might be a little quirky. Then again, so is Sara. But Broken Wheel’s own story might be more eccentric and surprising than she thought.

A heartwarming reminder of why we are book overs, this is a sweet, smart story about how books find us, change us, and connect us.

(All summaries are from Amazon.)


How often do you read?
How many books do you usually read in a month?
Are you taking the challenge with me?

Psssst……Add me on Goodreads!

 

Leave a Reply

